Derek Peden

Follow @derekpeden on Micro.blog.

Weighing up the new Macs

Like many I’m weighing up the pros and cons of the new MBP with an M3 class SOP.

Is the Air enough for non-pro use cases?

I’m particular I’m looking at an upgrade from a Intel MacBook Pro, and wether to vertical upgrade to a new MacBook Pro or down to a M2 MacBook Air.

My current current MacBook is an ex work model I acquired for a £50 charitable donation, a late 2015 model with a mere 8Gb RAM and paltry 128Gb SSD. So any new storage would be welcome allowing me to retire the external drives which are semi-permanently connected via a USB hub.

However I don’t work from my Mac but use it recreationally rather than professionally, so maybe the Air would suffice and not really be a downgrade given the capabilities of the M2 SOP.